Food / Inspiration / Lifestyle / Photography / travel

The Cost of Costco

The August Break 2013, Day Seven

I went to Costco yesterday to buy things for our week at Edisto beach (South Carolina) next week.

Cost of Costco

Surprise. I bought a lot of things not on my list.

Surprise. The bill was really big.

This is why I don’t go to Costco very often.

I looked over the receipt when I got home and realized that it wasn’t as bad as I thought initially. Once I subtracted the items that are really for home, the bill was a third less. Then when I considered that I was buying food for seven days, three meals a day plus snacks for 6-12 people (and some are teenagers), I realized that it was really about $7 per person per day. Okay. Not bad at all–a bargain in fact. I feel much better.

We decided to rent this beach house for a week because we wanted a place to relax before the busyness of fall set in. We also thought that since Edisto is only an hour and a half from Charleston that it would be a great opportunity to invite our friends down to enjoy a day or two before the end of summer. Thankfully a number of friends have accepted our invitation and we will have a variety of people in and out all week long. We can’t wait!

I guess the cost of Costco is not so great after all.

By the way, I will be making delicious Edisto tomato pie. Click here for my recipe. I imagine shrimp and grits will be on the menu as well. Naturally we will be picking up our Geechie Boy Grits from our dear friends Betsy and Greg Johnsman at Geechie Boy Market and Mill on Edisto Island. Click here, here and here to read more about them.

ABfooter1

3 thoughts on “The Cost of Costco

  1. Mrs. Amy,
    I just thought I would let you know that I have really enjoyed reading your last few posts. The post about Camp Saint Christopher is by far my favorite! I totally agree with the nervousness aspect and that camp is home for so many people! I just have to say it, you’re blessed with a rare talent. Not many people have the ability to write as well as you do. I hope you keep doing your thing and that I get to read more of your posts soon!
    Carl J. Troutman

  2. Pingback: Edisto: Old School Beach Vacation | Making Lemonade

Leave a comment