Being Southern / Career / Inspiration / Lifestyle / Photography / Women / writing

Breaking All the Rules

Okay. I admit that just saying this makes me a little apprehensive. I’m not much of a rule breaker. I’m more comfortable with boundaries and limits and schedules.

Needing fences

I operate better with some boundaries.

Now I am not saying that I’m not rebellious. I certainly push against these very limits but breaking them is a different matter.

I guess that is why I was so intrigued when Susannah Conway gave me permission to break the rules this month.

Like most bloggers, I have set up a pretty rigid schedule of posting to keep me on track and accountable. It has been a bit more difficult to follow my self-imposed schedule during the summer and I have to admit that I have felt a bit guilty when I have missed a deadline or skimped on content.

With only a few weeks of summer left before my daughter heads back to school, I don’t want to miss out on any time that we may have together as a family. That is why Susannah’s August Break 2013 is so welcome.

http://www.susannahconway.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/AB550_4.jpg

So what is the August Break 2013? It is a photo challenge for bloggers that encourages us to simply be present in the moment (not unlike the 1000 Gifts list idea from Ann Voskamp). What challenges me about this is that there really aren’t any rules. She suggests taking a photo and posting it every day but you can also participate less frequently. You can add words or not…it is simply about freedom and enjoying taking photographs.

I need this break in my schedule right now. I am determined to not miss out on any time with my family as the summer slowly slips away.

I know that September will come barging in with its meetings and activities and demands. I also have a big writing project that I will begin in September, so I think a break from words might be a good thing for me.

So, thanks to Susannah, I am giving myself permission to break the rules. Check back in with me when you can to see what photos I am posting. And then come September, I will be back on track.

Savor the summer, my friends!

7 thoughts on “Breaking All the Rules

  1. Pingback: Reined in by a Rainy Day | Making Lemonade

  2. I think so many of us are yearning for a break. I took Susannah’s prompt and made my own rules. I’m doing my own thing, not participating in the August Break as a group, but I was definitely inspired by it and am also doing photos stories this month. I’m hoping it will open me up creatively.

    And I can relate to being more comfortable with boundaries and limits and choices… but it never ever seems to work out that way for me. Perhaps I’m more of a rule breaker at heart? Or just inconsistent? 🙂

  3. Pingback: A Guilty Pleasure: School Supply Shopping | Making Lemonade

  4. Pingback: The Cost of Costco | Making Lemonade

  5. Pingback: The Changing Nature of Nature | Making Lemonade

Leave a Reply

